The Core-Dr Falk Awards


New for 2017! Celebrating 10 years of working together to inspire research

£10,000 Award for Gastroenterology SpR Trainees

Applications open now - Deadline 17 November 2017, 5pm

Core and Dr Falk are celebrating ten years of collaboration (2007 -2017) with a brand new award to support trainees in audit and quality improvement. We are inviting applications under this new programme which is open to UK-based gastroenterology specialty trainees who would like to conduct an audit in any area of gastroenterology, pancreas or liver disease or nutrition.

Variation of care in the NHS is a big driver of research. What is best practice? The aim of this award is to engage and support trainee gastroenterologists in audit and quality improvement that will bring about real benefits for patients.  Core and Dr Falk are committed to engaging trainees with research, obtaining funding and adding an extra dimension to your career at an early stage. Research, audit and service improvement benefits all of us.

Applications can be made for the full £10,000 or for smaller amounts. Applications can come from individual trainees or from collaborators within trainee networks working across different sites regionally or nationally.   Applications may be for new projects for existing networks or for the development of a project within a new research network.  Download Pointers for setting up a successful trainee research network here.

The project must address an area of clinical need within gastroenterology and have clear patient benefit.  Pilot and feasibility work to enable larger grant applications will be considered. The project must be entirely based within the UK and for a period of one year only.

The successful project should be able to start within a maximum of six months of the date of the award.  Ideally ethical approval, where necessary, will have been sought before the application is submitted but applications will be accepted before approval has been sought.  However, funds will not be released until proof of ethics approval has been submitted for applications where ethical approval is required. A final report should be available to Core within three months of completion.

All relevant non-capital project costs can be funded under this award.  This can include, for example, network-related set up costs such as website, database expenses as well as project-related travel or volunteers expenses but excludes conference attendance.

In order to assist with project start-up costs up to 20% of the grant award can be made in advance.  The final 20% of the award will be paid upon receipt of a satisfactory final report and invoice detailing expenditure.

The deadline for applications is 17 November 2017, 5pm.  

To fill out the application form for this award, please click here.

SpR Trainee Audit/QI Awards Criteria

Trainees who have an established project or fellowship that is fully funded are not eligible for this award unless the funding is to contribute to a separate piece of work.  Details of other funding for related work must be provided on the application form.

The Core – Dr Falk awards recognise the achievements of those who bring new knowledge and insight to the field of gastroenterology and hepatology. For those committed to furthering research or patient care, these awards provide an opportunity to achieve national recognition as well as the financial support for career progression.
The 2017 round has now closed and the award recipients will be announced in June. Information for the 2018 round will be advertised in autumn 2017. If you would like to sign up for research award updates, email and specify your subject as ‘Research’ to be added to the mailing list.

Awards include:
• A £1,000 prize for the best essay on gastroenterology or hepatology research personally undertaken by UK medical students who were on an intercalated BSc/MRes/MBPhD/MSc/MPH course during the previous academic year (2015/16).

• Four £1,500 prizes for UK medical students taking full-time science degrees (BSc/MRes/MBPhD/MSc/MPH) focusing on gastrointestinal or liver-related disease in the current academic year (2016/17).

• Two £2,500 awards for UK F1/F2 doctors to facilitate prospective research in an area relevant to gastroenterology or hepatology.

• A £1,000 award for primary and secondary care gastrointestinal / liver nurses and dietitians in the UK for initiatives that have advanced patient care.


Investing in Future Researchers

Previous recipients and highlights