Investing in future researchers

One of the most important objectives of Core is to maintain the supply of bright enquiring minds into research for the first time. This is how many of today’s leaders started. Please read the contributions of our 2016 award holders and prize winners: you are looking at tomorrow’s leaders.

May 2016 : Dr Falk/Core Medical Students Prizes & Awards


We are delighted to announce the recent winners of the Dr Falk-Core awards. Read more about their award-winning projects below. 

Dr Falk-Core Medical Student Essay winner


Sam Kleeman (University of Cambridge)

Application of a miRNA signature to the non-invasive diagnosis of Barrett’s oesophagus

Dr Falk-Core Student Bursaries

Fatima Ali

Fatima Ali (University College London)

Morbidity and Mortality Associated with Cytomegalovirus Infection in Liver Transplant Recipients – Structural Characterisation of a Putative Cytomegalovirus Drug Target

James Wadkin photo

James Wadkin (University of Birmingham)

Expression, Regulation and the Functional Role of Tetraspanin CD151 in the Development of Chronic Liver Disease and Hepatocellular Carcinoma

Kat McKay photo

Katherine McKay (University of Newcastle)

Mechanistic Basis of Cognitive Impairment in Cholestatic Liver Disease

Sivesh photo

Sivesh Kamarajah (University of Birmingham)

Expression and Functional Characterisation of Scavenger Receptor F-1 and Zonula Occludens-2 in Chronic Liver Disease and Malignancy

Dr Falk-Core F1/F2 Bursaries

Photo Paul Middleton

Paul Middleton (King’s College Hospital)

Characterisation of neutrophil and regulatory T-cell/effector T-cell interactions in alcohol-related liver disease

Patrik Bachtiger

Patrik Bachtiger (Royal Free Hospital)

Mechanisms of Cell Death in Acute on Chronic Liver Failure: Necrosis, Apoptosis and the Emerging Role of Nucleosomes

Dr Falk-Core Medical Nurse Recognition Prize

Kate Greveson

Kate Greveson (Royal Free Hospital)

Developed ; a non-profit, evidence based, online travel resource to educate patients with IBD and healthcare professionals who advise them.